NHL | Nov 07, 2022

The Norris Trophy odds 2023

By Ezra

Untitled design 1

Once summer is over, the regular season for the National Hockey League (NHL) begins. By the end of this season, 16 teams will have made playoffs and are hoping to win the Stanley Cup (the annual championship trophy that is awarded to the NHL’s playoff champion).

The James Norris Memorial Trophy, or known simply as the ‘Norris Trophy’, is an annual award given to the top defence player in the NHL. This player will be somebody who has consistently demonstrated all season that they have the best all-round ability and skill in their position. The award is named after James Norris, the former long-time owner of Detroit Red Wings.

Previous winners of the Norris Trophy (2010-2022)

Red Kelly of the Detroit Red Wings won the first trophy in 1953. Doug Harvey of the Montreal Canadiens won the award every year between 1954 and 1962, except for the regular season in 1958-1959 when his teammate Tom Johnson took the trophy home. Bobby Orr of the Boston Bruins has won the award the most times, taking home eight trophies consecutively between 1967 and 1975.

Season Player/Team
2022 Cale Makar - Colorado Avalanche
2021 Adam Fox - New York Rangers
2020 Roman Josi - Nashville Predators
2019 Mark Giordano - Calgary Flames
2018 Victor Hedman - Tampa Bay Lightning
2017 Brent Burns - San Jose Sharks
2016 Drew Doughty - Los Angeles Kings
2015 Erik Karlsson - Ottawa Senators
2014 Duncan Keith - Chicago Blackhawks
2013 P.K. Subban - Montreal Canadiens
2012 Erik Karlsson - Ottawa Senators
2011 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2010 Duncan Keith - Chicago Blackhawks
2009 Zdeno Chara - Boston Bruins
2008 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2007 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2006 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2004 Scott Niedermayer - New Jersey Devils
2003 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2002 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings
2001 Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings

Favorites to win the Norris Trophy 2023

Cale Makar - Colorado Avalanche

Within 3 years, Cale Makar went from the winner of the Calder Trophy (NHL’s Rookie of the Year) to winner of the Norris Trophy. Makar won the award last season in 2022 and put up a grand-total of 86 points at just 23 years old. It is no wonder he is the favorite blue liner to win the Norris Trophy this season. His team are also favorites to win the Stanley Cup.

If Makar wins, it would make him the first consecutive winner since Nicklas Lidstrom back in the 2000’s. He is yet to reach his prime, meaning Makar will likely be a favorite to win the Norris Trophy for the next few years.

Adam Fox - New York Rangers

Adam Fox won the Norris Trophy back in the 2021 season, during his second season as a defensive player in the NHL.

Fox is the favorite to win the award after Makar, having scored 74 points last season.

Victor Hedman - Tampa Bay Lightning

Victor Hedman won the Norris Trophy in 2018, but he has been a finalist for the award six years in a row.

Last season Hedman finished with 85 points. It was the most points he had achieved in his entire career, following behind Makar by just one point. If Hedman keeps up his reputation of one of the best blue liners in the NHL, he may take the Norris Trophy home for the second time.

Roman Josi - Nashville Predators

Roman Josi was the Norris Trophy winner in 2020, the first player from the Nashville Predators to win the award.

Josi finished the last season with a mammoth 96 points. If he is able to cross the 100-point mark this regular season, Josi could definitely be taking the Norris Trophy home again.

Contenders to win the Norris Trophy 2023

Aaron Ekblad - Florida Panthers

Aaron Ekblad may have only finished the last season with 57 points, but he did only play 61 games. Therefore, within a full season, it equates to 77 points. These statistics definitely make Ekbald a contender in the Norris Trophy awards.

Other contenders to consider when placing odds for the Norris Trophy winner include: Erik Karlsson (San Jose Sharks), Rasmus Dahlin (Buffalo Sabres), Miro Heiskanen (Dallas Stars), Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins), and Charlie McAvoy (Boston Bruins).

Norris Trophy odds 2023

Here are the Norris Trophy odds for 2023, according to DraftKings. Other sports betting sites which are good for odds include Caesars Sportsbook and Bet365.

Player Odds
Cale Makar +150
Adam Fox +800
Victor Hedman +1000
Roman Josi +1000
Erik Karlsson +1200
Rasmus Dahlin +1600
Aaron Ekbald +1800
Miro Heiskanen +2200
Kris Letang +2500
Charlie McAvoy +2500
Quinn Hughes +3000
Moritz Seider +3000
John Carlson +3000
Devon Toews +3000
Shea Theodore +3500
Morgan Rielly +3500
Dougie Hamilton +3500
Alex Pietrangelo +3500
MacKenzie Weega +5000
Jaccob Slavin +5000
Jared Spurgeon +5000
Tony DeAngelo +5000
Thomas Chabot +5000
Noah Dobson +6000
Justin Faulk +7500
Drew Doughty +7500
Brent Burns +7500
Zach Werenski +7500
Torey Krug +7500
Seth Jones +7500
Rasmus Andersson +10000
Owen Power +10000
Jakob Chychrun +10000
John Klingberg +10000
Evan Bouchard +10000
Darnell Nurse +10000
Bowen Byram +10000
Josh Morrissey +15000
Scott Perunovich +15000
Samuel Girard +30000
Noah Hanifin +30000
Matt Dumba +30000
Dimitry Orlov +30000
Damon Severson +30000
Christopher Tanev +30000
Ben Chiarot +30000
Tyson Barrie +30000
Shayne Gostisbehere +30000