NFL | Oct 04, 2022

The NFL Divisions Explained

By Freya Lockwood


As you may know the National Football League (NFL) is an American football league that consists of 32 teams across the country. With so many teams, to make scheduling and playoff seeding easier, the NFL decided to introduce divisions and split the teams into two conferences, known as the American Football Conference (AFC) and National Football Conference (NFC). Each conference has four groups, east, south, north, and west.

We have decided to put together a simplified explanation of each NFL division to help you get a better understanding!

AFC East

The AFC east was founded in 1960 and resides 4 of the 32 teams, including Miami Dolphins, Buffalo Bills, New York Jets, and New England Patriots.

The Patriots hold the crown for the most AFC titles, with a total of 22. They are the winners by a fairly large margin, as the dolphins follow with 14 title and the bills at 12.

AFC South

The AFC south was formed in 2002, originally with three inaugural members, Jacksonville Jaguars, Tennessee Titans, and Indianapolis Colts, with the Houston Texans joining as an expansion team.

The Indianapolis colts have a total of 9 titles, holding the record for the most in their division.

AFC North

The AFC North was founded in 2002, when the NFL realigned into eight divisions, just like AFC South. The AFC North is home to the Cleveland Browns, Cincinnati Bengals, Baltimore Ravens, and Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Pittsburgh Steelers currently hold 24 titles, putting them at the top of the leaderboard for titles in the division.

AFC West

The AFC west was created when the AFL and NFL merged in 1970, when it was originally six divisions, with two conferences of three divisions each. Since then it has changed to what is used today. The division consists of Kansas City Chiefs, Los Angeles Chargers, Denver Broncos, and Las Vegas Raiders.

The Broncos, Raiders, and chargers all tie for the most titles at a total of 15.

NFC East

The NFC East was formed in 1967 and holds four of the 32 NFL teams. Its teams include Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, and Washington Commanders.

The Dallas Cowboys hold the most titles out of the group and are the most recent champions bringing their total up to 24.

NFC North

The NFC North division was created in 2002, previously known as the NFC central between 1907-2001. The division currently has four members, Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings.

The Minnesota Vikings have 20 division titles, making them the top title leaders of the group.

NFC South

The NFC South was also generated in 2002 after the league expanded to 32 teams. It is currently home to the Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The New Orleans Saints reign for the most titles, with a total of 7, the most recent champions, Tampa Bay Buccaneers are not too far behind with 4 titles.

NFC West

The NFC West was founded in 1967, it currently has 4 members, Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, the San Francisco 49ers, and the Seattle Seahawks.

The San Francisco 49ers are in the lead for the most title wins, with a total of 20. The 2022 Super Bowl Champions are at fairly close quarters with 16 titles.