The Rules of Twenty20 Cricket

Twenty20 cricket is a fast-paced and exciting version of the sport that has gained immense popularity since its introduction in 2003. The game is played with specific rules and regulations that make it different from other versions of cricket. In this article, we will explore the rules of Twenty20 cricket, including fielding restrictions, free hits, run penalties, and more.

Game time

One of the most significant differences between Twenty20 cricket and longer versions of the game is the time limit. Each team bats and bowls a total of 20 overs in a single innings, which means that they must play aggressively and score as many runs as possible in a shorter period.

Bowling and Batting

In Twenty20 matches, the rules of scoring are the same as in other versions of the game. The batsmen score runs by hitting the ball and running between the wickets. They can also score runs by hitting boundaries, which are shots that reach the boundary of the cricket ground. If the ball is hit outside the boundary without touching the ground, it is called a six, and the batsman is awarded six runs. If the ball touches the ground before going outside the boundary, it is called a four, and the batsman is awarded four run.

But crucially, in T20 cricket matches, each bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs in an innings, which means that the team has to use a combination of bowlers to complete their 20 overs.

The batting team must score as many runs as possible in the given time frame. If the team loses all ten wickets before the completion of their 20 overs, their innings is over, and the other team gets a chance to bat. If the batting team has not completed their 20 overs before the time limit expires, the innings is also over. The team with the highest number of runs at the end of the game wins.

Additionally, there is a rule of a free hit, which means that if a bowler bowls a no-ball, the next ball is a free hit. This means that the batsman cannot be out on that delivery unless he is run out or obstructing the field. This rule adds an element of excitement to the game and encourages bowlers to avoid bowling no-balls.


Another important aspect of Twenty20 cricket is that the fielding team is restricted in terms of how many fielders they can have outside the "fielding circle." During the first six overs of the innings, only two fielders are allowed outside the circle, while in the remaining overs, five fielders can be placed outside the circle.

Also, if a fielding team is found to be wasting time, they can be penalized with run penalties. The umpire can award five penalty runs to the batting team if they feel that the fielding team is deliberately delaying the game. Similarly, if the batting team is wasting time, they can be penalized with run penalties.


One interesting rule in T20, is that before the start of the game, each team nominates three batsmen who will be responsible for batting in case of any injury or other issues during the game. These players are known as the "super subs."

What's more? The players are not allowed to use the traditional dressing rooms. Instead, the game delivers a row of chairs in the playing arena, where the players sit during the game.

As you can tell, T20 follows most of the standard rules of cricket but the few changes made increases the pace and excitement of the game - this is the key difference that makes Twenty20 so popular. Understanding the rules of T20 cricket can enhance your enjoyment of the game and allow you to appreciate the skills of the players on the field.

If you want to learn more about the Indian Premier League check out our beginners guide to IPL betting here. And if you fancy trying your luck on the IPL sportsbooks, check out our IPL betting strategy tips and tricks here.